Posted by: SWL | July 4, 2016

Happy Independence Day!

I just finished watching the local 20 minute fireworks show from my front porch. Similar fireworks displays are popping all over the US this Independence Day.

There are food and games at our park during the day, and many families stay until the fireworks are over. My spouse and I used to take our daughters when they were young and go with our grandson when he visits in the summer. But with a great view from our front yard, we often just relax and enjoy the fireworks without the crowds.

There are so many options for enjoying the celebration of our nation’s freedom.

I hope that as families have fun this July 4th, they also remember (and teach the children) the sacrifices many made to gain that freedom. For the Founding Fathers (and mothers) the fight to escape taxation without representation (and many other problems) was not fun. Everything we enjoy in the present age is available because of their efforts.

I thank God for those patriots and for those who have fought over the decades to keep our freedoms. May God continue to bless the United States!

Categories

