Posted by: SWL | September 5, 2014

2014-15 Season Opener: Packers-Seahawks

Flying the Packers' colorsThe NFL officially opened last night with the Green Bay Packers visiting the Seahawks in Seattle.

For some reason, I’ve had a difficult time building enthusiasm for football – college or pro – this year. Last year I rearranged my schedule to be sure I could see all the Forty-Niner and Packers preseason games. Last month I caught only 2 of the 5 broadcast in our area.

Of course, preseason is a bit boring. Most of the first-string plays only the first quarter, and generally plays cautiously to avoid injuries. During San Francisco’s first home game in their new Levi’s Stadium, I decided that QB Colin Kaepernick needs to stay healthy because I was not at all impressed with any of the 3 QB’s vying for the #2 spot. (On the other hand, Denver has some good potential back-up for Peyton Manning.)

Candlestick Park 2013

Candlestick Park 2013

Last year’s excitement may have been caused in part by anticipation of attending the season opener between San Francisco and Green Bay (my fave team and my
Candlestick farewell logo (2013)

Candlestick farewell logo (2013)

spouse’s) to say farewell to Candlestick Park. Between the cost and the distance, we’ve only attended 4 games in the last 15 years. Even with a monster headache that day, it was exciting to see last year’s game in person.

But there are positive things about watching the game at home. Last night it was great not having to fight the crowds to get back to my seat with a freshly made bratwurst!

The only disappointment of the evening was the final score! It wasn’t a big surprise – playing the reigning Super Bowl champions with most of the offensive line out with injuries is tough. Hopefully those guys are healthy very soon.

Categories

