Posted by: SWL | August 15, 2013

NFL 2013-14: Start of Preseason Took Me By Surprise

I took a break from blogging this summer while my grandson was visiting. Last week, after reuniting him with his parents, I was visiting other family members. When my brother-in-law turned on the television, I was surprised to see the San Francisco 49ers’ first preseason game. Where has the summer gone? It seems like the Super Bowl was just last month!

My grandson takes up most of my attention during the summers, but I can’t explain how I missed the Niners’ acquisition of Colt McCoy in April. That was my biggest surprise in preseason game #1. But I’ve done my research and am now up to speed on the QB situation. My spouse thought McCoy might be a major threat to Colin Kaepernick’s starting status, especially since Kap only played one down. But Peyton Manning only played one series for Denver. It’s normal to protect the starting QB during the preseason. Right now SF Coach Jim Harbaugh seems committed to Kaepernick as the starter.

Unfortunately Denver won the game. Neither team looked like they were really trying very hard to win. Tomorrow when San Francisco meets the Chiefs in Kansas City, it may be different. Last season, Kaepernick replaced Alex Smith, who is now the Chiefs’ starting QB. But even if Kap and Smith feel as if they have something to prove, their coaches will have the final say over playing time.

This game won’t catch me by surprise; it’s on my calendar – 5 pm Pacific time (8 pm Eastern). Meet me back here an hour after the game ends!

Categories

